Automotive Research Association of India
Research Institute of the Automotive Industry with the Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises, Govt. of India
Home Contact Us FAQs Login
Standard Formulation
  Published AIS
Standard Formulation » AISC

Automotive Industry Standards Committee (AISC)
Automotive Industry Standards Committee (AISC) is set up under Central Motor Vehicles Rules -Technical Standing Committee (CMVR - TSC) by Ministry of Road Transport & Highways,(Dept. of Road Transport & Highways) (MoRT&H (DoRT&H)) in the year 1997 to review the safety in the design, construction, operation and maintenance of motor vehicles.

The composition of the AISC is as under:
  Ministry of Road Transport & Highways ( Department of Road Transport & Highways) (MoRT&H (DoRT&H))
  Ministry of Heavy Industries & Public Enterprises (Department of Heavy Industry) ( MoHI&PE (DHI))
  Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises (Office of the Development Commissioner, MSME)
  The Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI)
  Central Institute of Road Transport (CIRT)
  Indian Institute of Petroleum (IIP)
  Vehicle Research and Development Establishment (VRDE)
  Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM)
  Tractor Manufacturers Association (TMA)
  Automotive Component Manufacturers Association of India (ACMA)
  Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS)

Director, ARAI is the ex-officio Chairman of AISC. ARAI is the secretariat to AISC and Mr. Vikram Tandon, Dy. General Manager, is Member Secretary.